Skip to main content

Texas Tech Bestows Honor on PCCA President

Wally DarneilleDarneille Named Outstanding Agriculturist

PCCA President and CEO Wally Darneille was named a recipient of the Gerald W. Thomas Outstanding Agriculturist Award during Texas Tech’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources (CASNR) annual Pig Roast last November. The award, established in 1969, is named for Thomas who served as dean of Tech’s College of Agricultural Sciences from 1958 to 1970. It recognizes individuals for their contributions to various areas of Texas agriculture.

CASNR, during the award ceremony, noted Darneille’s leadership over the years in the creation of the Larry Combest Endowed Chair in Agricultural Competitiveness. The college also recognized Darneille’s leadership rolls with Cotton Council International, the National Council of Textile Organizations, the Texas Cotton Association, the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives, and the American Cotton Shippers Association.

Darneille received his bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College and a master’s of business administration degree from Auburn University Montgomery (AUM). Recently, he was named one of the “Top 40 at 40” which honors the 40 top graduates for the 40-year history of Auburn University’s Montgomery campus.

The Pig Roast, held at Lubbock’s Memorial Civic Center, also featured scholarship donors, recipients and intercollegiate judging teams. Other 2010 recipients were Tim Lust of Abernathy, Texas, and Barry Evans of Kress, Texas.