Skip to main content

Texas Tech Recognizes Coop Leaders

By Wendy McDaniel

Coop Leaders Group Photo

From Left, Gerald W. Thomas Outstanding Agriculturalist Award Winners Van May, Steve Verett and Keith Streety with Dr. Sam Curl, dean of Texas Tech University’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

Three cooperative leaders representing agribusiness, public service and production were honored with the Gerald W. Thomas Outstanding Agriculturist award at the 69th Annual Pig Roast held Oct. 29 by Texas Tech’s College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources.

The award, named for the former dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences, was established in 1969 and honors individuals for their contributions to Texas agriculture.

Keith Streety of Ropesville, TX, was honored in the field of production. He has served as director of the South Smyer Coop Gin for 20 years and as chairman of the Plains Cooperative Oil Mill Board for eight years. Streety was recently appointed as a Cotton Board director and also serves as an alternate delegate to the National Cotton Council.

Steve Verett, executive director of the Texas Food and Fibers Commission and member of USDA’s cotton marketing advisory committee, was honored for his work and accomplishments in public service. In partnership with his brother for the past 18 years, he also has been an area producer of cotton, wheat, and grain sorghum near Ralls, TX.

Van May, president and CEO of Plains Cotton Cooperative Association (PCCA) in Lubbock, TX, was honored for his success and involvement in agribusiness. PCCA represents 26,000 producers in Texas and Oklahoma and has gross annual sales near $1 billion. Streety and Verett are PCCA members.